Unfinished

Wednesday, the 11th of September, 2002 - 12:21am (on the 12th)

Current Song ~ "Sunrise" by Divine Comedy.

I cannot justify writing an entry like those already up on the web.
It would be written out of a sense of obligation, and I really don't have anything more to say.

That is, I feel, how it should be.

This is not just "the anniversary of 9/11". This is the 11th of September, 2002.
A year has gone by. A nation cannot mourn forever, and there's a point where the outpouring of grief from totally uninvolved people becomes rather distasteful.

I also find it hard to see how it helps the families of victims to have the whole event relived on radio and television, over and over again.

I want to write a tribute to today.
I want to note down all the little things that it's so easy to forget - the way the sun shone on the leaves of the trees in my garden, the subtle things in songs that I never noticed before.
I want to always believe that it's not just the great tragedies in life that should be remembered and looked back on.

"I would like to bury something precious in every place where I've been happy, so that when I'm old and ugly and miserable, I can dig it up, and remember..."

The quote is totally inaccurate (it's from "Brideshead Revisited"), but I can't find it right now.
It's kind of how I feel about this diary.
I want to look back and remember all the happy little moments.

I also considered today a good time to consider the future, and think about what I want to do.
There are a few things that I need to get sorted - but that's a subject for another time.

I think I'll end this with lyrics that seemed very appropriate this afternoon.

looking back on whatever is done
scattering ashes into the sun
let the past go into a freefall
crash of ages, rock of the tide
back and forth in waves of goodbye
leave your grieving on a sea wall

after all this time
and if you want, you can cry forever
waiting for a sign
it is time, it is time...

previous ornament next