...and onward into 2006!

Monday, the 23rd of January, 2006 - 28 past 8pm

Current Song ~ "High Maintenance/Low Tolerance" by Amoree Lovell.

Happy New-ish Year, Everyone!

It possibly doesn't bode well that I'm already a tad stuck for diary material.
My life being what it is, the most exciting thing that's happened in the last forty-eight hours has been the acquisition of new magazine boxes, which has allowed me to transfer my woodwind scores and solo vocal scores into their very own boxes.
For many people, this might seem fairly elementary. For me, this is the Height of Organisational Genius, as the former wide geographical spread of the music now occupying those boxes can testify. There weren't that many piles of random stuff that I didn't extract some almost-forgotten score or two from.

Going a bit further back in time, no sooner did the post-Christmas holiday end than I found myself back on stage for my second ever performance of Handel's Messiah.
The venue was new to me, and I must admit that I initially had my doubts about it.
During the rehearsal it seemed as though everyone other than the sopranos and the orchestra might as well have been in a different room. I was only a couple of seats along from the altos, but if I hadn't seen them arrive, I would have suspected that only a few of them had turned up.
However, during the concert itself, the acoustic seemed perfectly fine - not quite up to the fine standards set by St. James' Piccadilly, but still very good for singing purposes.
One of these days I'm really going to have to study acoustics at least a little bit, for the varying qualities of different halls intrigue me hugely.

Aside from that, I've been spending far too much time logging into the OU website to see whether there's been any news posted about either of my courses. I feel that I really ought to be savouring my last fortnight of freedom from essay deadlines, but I suspect that I'll remain very slightly on edge until the official start date.
It doesn't help, of course, that while the tutorial dates have been posted online but the snail-mail copy (which is the only thing that tells you which tutor is taking each tutorial) hasn't arrived yet.
One of my tutors is, somewhat inexplicably, on the other side of the country (perhaps I shouldn't have spend two years complaining about being sent all the way to Camden...!), but I would sort of appreciate knowing whether I can expect to see the other one at any point...

On that incredibly boring note, I think I'll call this an entry, as the 24th is nearly upon us and I want to get in a chapter or so of Jean Rhys' Quartet before bed.

T.T.F.N.!

Lily

previous ornament next