I Aten't Dead. (My hardware, however...)

Wednesday, the 29th of November, 2006 - 2am

Current Song ~ "Labyrinth" by The Endless.

I'm sure that you've all been waiting with bated breath to discover what was going 'bleep' at all hours of the day and night; and I must thank all those who came up with perfectly plausible suggestions.
Further frantic appliance-checking has revealed that the culprit was...

My musical calculator.

Which I've had for what must be well over a decade, and never before knew that it beeped to alert people to its accidentally being left on.
Herein lies a valuable lesson: communication methods are only useful to the extent to which they are comprehended - and alas, I cannot claim to be fluent in Casio ML-831.

So, that's one mystery solved.

In somewhat more momentous news, I have in recent times been catapulted into the world of up-to-date technology: this entry is the first to be typed on my bright shiny new iMac, and I'm being constantly distracted from the task in hand by the urge to play with my even newer mobile phone.

Just as you can rely on everything in the bathroom running out at the same time (aside from that one conditioner which you are in all probability going to take, still mysteriously half-full, to your grave), you never get just one electronic breakdown at the same time.
To the above items I could add my CD player - though they do tend to be eccentric from day one - and the kitchen light switch.
What fun the twenty-first century can be!

To look on the bright side, however, the move to OSX has given me a new toy: the latest version of iTunes has the 'Top 25 Most Played' list that I previously lacked.
It's something of a self-fulfilling prophecy - the songs that I have a natural tendency to play to death are now that much more convenient to locate - but I'll be interested to see how the list develops over time.

For the sake of posterity, the current Top Five are:
1. Wicked Game ~ Chris Isaak (28)
2. Running Up That Hill ~ Icon and the Black Roses (28)
3. Never Let Me Down Again ~ Depeche Mode (27)
4. The Chauffeur ~ Duran Duran (27)
5. House Of Rain (Kashmir Side Effects) ~ The Merry Thoughts (23)

I'll let you draw your own conclusions regarding my musical taste.

At this point, the thought occurs that it's past two o'clock in the morning and I'm supposed to be recuperating from a cold that, in a particularly fine display of awful timing, resulted in this not being the entry about performing Bach's B Minor Mass that I'd expected to be writing round about now.
Time to call it a night, I think.

Further catching up should happen once NaNoWriMo is out of the way - until then, au revoir, and (where appropriate) thank you for your continued tolerance of the flakey update schedule!

Lily

previous ornament next