Checking in...

Thursday, the 7th of July, 2005 - 26 to 11pm

Current Song ~ "Music for a While" by Purcell.

This is just a quick entry to let anyone who may be wondering that I'm okay; as is my family, who decided earlier in the week that Friday would be a better day for their trip into the City than today.

I got up very late this morning, switched on my mobile, and found that I didn't have a signal until I moved to a different part of the house, when the signal abruptly returned.
It's not entirely unheard of for network outages to occur, and my mobile is quite elderly and prone to do odd things once every few months, so I didn't think any more of it.

A little later, we caught the news, to which I don't think I can add terribly much of any value or intelligence.
I will say, however, that I am extremely impressed by the way that the situation has been handled.
By all accounts that I've come across, the emergency services (and all other groups involved in whatever capacity) have been doing a truly excellent job.
Meanwhile online, a community was set up to provide news, lists of confirmed survivors, and offers of help for Londoners unable to contact family members abroad.

Also, if you have a few moments to spare, I'd like to recommend this post, which was made in response to people asking whether there was anything they could do to help.

I hope that all is well with the Londoners of Diaryland, and thank you all for reading this.

Lily

previous ornament next